The Rule

Following rules has never been my strong suite. Sometimes it’s because I just plain old don’t know, or understand the rules. And my memory isn’t what it once was so sometimes I forget the rules. And, of course, there are other times when I just say the hell with the rules and do what I want. Someone once said rules were made to be broken. I can’t remember who, but they were famous for saying that. And what they meant was that sometimes the rules are wrong and sometimes they get in the way of actually getting anything done. And after the rules got broken, someone else famous said it’s easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission. Can’t remember their name either . Like I said, my memory…

In the yard sale game there is one critical rule. And every time I break it, it bites me in the ass. For some reason, I just don’t always remember it. Even though I repeat it daily. OM, when you see it, pick it up. If you don’t pick it up when you see it, someone else is going to follow the rule and pick it up when they see it. And snatch it right out from under your nose!

I’ve been collecting blue glass lately. Light blue. Big pieces. Mantel sized objects. And today I saw a big bottle, perfect color, nice texture and great size and shape. I pointed it out to my daughter. She picked it up, looked at it, said it was nice…and put it down. I wasn’t watching but the next thing I knew some lady was walking off with the bottle! What the…!!! My daughter and I looked at each other like, I thought you had it! Damn, it got away. Follow the rule!

Later in the day I saw something I liked, but I couldn’t decide if I wanted to pay the second price the seller offered me. It was fair I thought, but did I want to pay that much? I put the thing back on the table, but I kept my hand on it. I knew there were vultures circling, just waiting to snap this thing up. In the end I bought it.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been on the other end of someone not following the rule. And I’ve snapped up something that someone else put down. Not my fault if they can’t follow the rules! So I can’t get mad at the other guy. I just have to kick myself in the butt for not following that rule!

The funny thing is that if you follow the rule and buy it when you see it, you may decide later that you don’t really like it. Buyer’s remorse. Or, if you are fortunate enough to go back and find that thing still sitting there later, you may decide that it’s not really what you thought. Or what you wanted. But then again, you might get really lucky, and find that later on, that which your heart desired is still there waiting for you, and still exactly what you wanted.

That’s part of my story. What’s yours? www.personalhistorywriter.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

