Lessons Learned, the Hard Way!

That big letter “S” on my chest doesn’t shine as brightly as it used to.  It once meant Superman, the man of steel.  You know, the guy in the funny blue and red suit with the cape and with Clark Kent as an alter ego.  As I get older, I’m more and more like Clark than Superman.  Funny dresser, glasses, kinda dorky.  Super big heart though.  And smarter than the average bear.  Even if my common sense is limited.

I recently had an accident.  Accidents by definition are unplanned.  Such was this.  And I have to admit that it was caused by a misguided notion that the S still shone as brightly as the Sun.  And a small lapse in common sense.  In my defense though, I have performed the associated superhuman feat numerous times I the past, without incident.

My body is pretty busted up, but it could have been a lot worse.  And I assure you, I am extremely thankful that I came away with a less disastrous outcome than was possible.  I coulda been killed.  Or worse, paralyzed for life.

I learned a couple of lessons from all of this.  I hope they don’t fade away with time.

Number one – recognize your weaknesses and put your strengths to work for you in accomplishing the job.  That S can just as easily stand for smarts as brute strength.  I’m no longer twenty years old.  The old grey horse ain’t what he used to be.  But the brainpower is there.  Use it!

Number two – Don’t complain about what you’ve got.  You either have to do something to make a change, or accept it and quit griping.  Realize that things could be much worse.  I have a bad back that, in spite of two surgeries, has never gotten better, and actually continues to deteriorate.  I complain about the injustice of it all on a regular basis.  Had my accident been just a tad different, I could have broken my back or snapped my spinal cord.  Might have broken my neck or turned my head into pudding.  Coulda been a lot worse.  Maybe the bad back isn’t so bad after all.  I can’t make it better, so learn to live with it.

Number three – Take a lesson from everything that happens.  You might not see any value at first, but if you keep looking there may be something.  I think that in a way my accident wasn’t all “accident.”  This may seem odd, but I think I got a push from a force that’s been trying to get me to get off the fence about something.  The message from above was, your back is toast.  You work hard to work around it, but you know there is something you can to.  Now, realize that it’s time to do it!  It was a push through the portal I’ve mentioned before.  And it’s working.

I learned a lot of other things too, like bones aren’t as hard as the ground and there is no gain from being stupid.  But what I’ve outlined above are bigger and better lessons.  In the future, I’m going to use my head, be appreciative, and learn from the past so I’ll be better in the future.

That’s part of my story.  What’s yours?  www.personalhistorywriter.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

