The Trip

You would think that there would be an easy part, a stressful part and an easy, even fun part.  But no!  So far this thing has been nothing but the stressful part.  My daughter is graduating from college in two weeks.  Stressful.  Indeed.  But that is not what I’m talking about here.

Three years ago she told us she wanted to go to England for her graduation present.  Wow!  I got a hand carved ballpoint pen for my college graduation.  Inflation I guess.  Why England?  I don’t know.  But that’s what she wants.  So, for the last three years we’ve been trying to save up enough money for this trip, and the vacation time needed to do it.  This isn’t a weekend affair.  Not even if the Concorde were still flying.  Well, maybe, but beside the point.  To do this right we need a week.

You are probably wondering what we are going to do for a week.  Of course, there are so many things to see and do in London alone.  But I haven’t gotten that far yet.  I know, three years.  What have I been doing?  Nothing.

That’s not quite true.  In the past two weeks I’ve had a daily panic attack trying to figure out the most basic parts of this thing.  When, exactly should we go and once we get there where the heck should we stay?  Hey, it’s tough making so many decisions.  OK, two decisions.  But a lot of options!

Based on everyone’s schedules, we narrowed it down to the end of May and the beginning of June.  Good start.  But should we leave on Monday?  Maybe Tuesday.  Sunday?  Seven options in each week!  It costs a little more to fly on the weekend so now we’re down to five options.  Don’t forget, if you leave on a Monday evening here, you arrive Tuesday morning in London.  Ready for a full day.

Monday night it is.  A decision made.  Now, do I reserve a hotel or air flight first?  Do the room is my logic.  You can get a flight any time or day, but hotels have to have room for you when you want to be there.  Amazing.  There are over a thousand hotels in London and so many seem to already be booked up for next month.  How far in advance do people plan?  Wait.  My sister plans her trips five years in advance!

London is a little larger than my hometown, so location matters.  I want to be near the action.  The tourist action that is.  So, where do we go for that?  Looking on tripadvisor I can begin my search by choosing a neighborhood to look in.  There are how many choices???  Seems like fifty or more.  And I don’t know where any of them are.

This looks good.  Oh wait.  It says thirty eight thousand dollars for a week.  What!  I was thinking a little less.  Here.  Right price.  Nice location.  Booked solid.  No elevator.  No breakfast.  Not enough beds.  Too far away.  You name it, we found a flaw.  My wife can be picky.  We are generally not allowed to let our feet touch the floor in a hotel.  Germs you know.

Finally.  Location.  Price.  Breakfast.  Beds.  Price.  Not perfect.  No.  But it’s gonna be great.  Book it Danno!  Now for the flight!  Easier by a long sight.  Fewer airports to choose from.  Fewer airlines.  Fewer times of day to fly.  Done!

Now for the hard part!  What are we gonna do when we get there!  My other daughter will graduate in three years.  I don’t know where she’ll want to go but maybe I should start planning now.  Nah!

That’s part of my story.  What’s yours?  www.personalhistorywriter.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

