Home for the Holidays!

Everybody is home!  My nest is full again.  Both kids came home from college this week.  Holiday break between semesters.  I know they are glad to be finished with school for a while.  And I’m pretty sure that they are glad to be home.  I mean, here.  They call their college places home now.  But this is the family home.  With mom and dad and the faithful dog.

We had the house all decorated for Christmas, but with the kids not here it was kind of quiet.  Forget that now!  There is laughing, and singing, and music.  Stories of school and friends.  For the oldest, there is only one semester more.  For the younger, this marks the end of the first.  My how they’ve grown.

The bills will all jump for the next several weeks.  More showers, laundry and water.  More electricity.  More food.  Oh, the food we can eat!  And of course it’s Christmas so there is all of the shopping.  And the special events to go to, like the choir and orchestra concert tomorrow evening.  But it’s ok.  I don’t mind spending the extra money.  Everybody is home!

I’m still struggling with the idea of going back to my family home.  It’s far away.  And it takes a long time to get there.  Doesn’t matter how we go.  We’ve tried it all.  Drive in one day.  Drive in two days.  Overnight on the train.  An all day adventure if we fly.  It costs a lot of money.  And it’s hard to get a long enough block of time off from work to make it worthwhile.  Should four of us fly up and spend two nights there?

My parents aren’t young anymore.  I base that on the fact that I ma not young anymore.  They have been talking about moving.  They’ve lived in that house for thirty-two years.  We only get to see them once a year or so.   My kids need to know their grandparents.

Sounds like I’m going.  How can I not?  Start planning!  I know my mother will have to scramble to prepare the house.  This is pretty short notice.  But I’m thinking she might also say “my son is home for Christmas!”  That’s part of my story.  What’s yours?  www.personalhistorywriter.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

