Change is Good

It’s funny how our thoughts and ideas change over time.  Not that they necessarily change from good to bad, or bad to good.  Or even from wrong to right, or right to wrong.  They just change from what they were to what they are.  They reflect the changes we go through in our life’s journey.

Some represent a sea change in the way we view or understand our world.  Now I’m a democrat.  Now I’m a republican.  Others are just little things.  Today I like peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  Yesterday, I couldn’t eat one if you paid me.  But they are all part of our story, and all interesting in their progression.

My wife wants to buy new furniture for the living room.  When I heard that I thought to myself, “oh gosh, this could be painful.”   Not because I was afraid she was going to spend a lot of money.  She’s pretty reasonable.  It was because our tastes are different.  Enough so that I might not be able to sit in a living room filled with furniture she picked out.  But wait, I was in for a surprise.

She grew up in a household with traditional American furniture.  I’m not sure that’s the proper label, but I think you know what I mean.  Ethan Allen meets Norman Rockwell.  Nothing wrong with that.  She also grew up in a household where you didn’t sit on the furniture.  Not even the chairs.  It was all for show.  She called it her grandmother’s museum room.

I grew up in a house where the furniture was designed for function and comfort.  And form.  Early feng shui.  It was modern, and classic.  Eclectic.  Mother is an artist.

Dragging me along for my inputs, my wife says, “I want to look at Italian furniture.”  We lived in Italy for a couple of years when we were first married and the furniture we saw was of the baroque fashion.  Highly polished wood with inlay.  It was nice, but way too ornate for me.  My idea of Italian design is Ferrari and Lamborghini. And the Italians are famous for furniture that mirrors those sleek designs.  I didn’t realize that my wife was aware of that so I was stunned when we walked into a showroom that looked like modern art.  It was beautiful stuff.  She liked it.  I liked it.  And when that happens we know we’ve hit on the right thing.

We didn’t buy anything, but I came to understand that my wife’s sense of style and fashion had changed.  Grown if you will.  And I think being married to me has helped with that.  Not that my sense is great.  It has just given her something new to think about and explore.  In furniture, and other things as well.

So, change is good.  That’s part of our story, what’s yours?  www.personalhistorywriter.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

